PDA

View Full Version : Understanding the "45° bump"

Tedfs
01-31-11, 00:43
No I'm not an engineer but understanding why things happen has always interested me.

What I'm wondering is, what parts are working in a pistol to make the slide go forward on it's own
when a mag is inserted with enough force and at the right angle.

When my G 19 was brand new, the slide would go forward fairly consistently on it's own. After about
the 12,000 round mark, the slide wouldn't always go forward on it's own even though the same technique
was being used.

Recently some work was done to the slide that required a refinish and now the slide goes forward
relibly again if enough force and the correct angle is used. Which has me wondering if the finish
thickness plays into this as well.

What I would like to figure out is, what parts are involved in producing the slide going forward
on a Glock when a mag is inserted with enough force and the right angle is used. Yeah other pistols
do it but for the sake of simplicity, Glock will be the focus.

And no, I don't think anyone should rely on using this 100% of the time, it's a tool in the box to
use like anything else. I just want to understand what parts are involved and why it works.

Any thoughts or ideas are welcome, this had been bugging me for a few years.

John_Wayne777
01-31-11, 06:42
There's a big heavy slide under compressed spring tension being held in place by a small engagement surface on a tiny piece of stamped steel pinned to a light, flexible frame. It's really not surprising that the right sort of bump would defeat that.

Tedfs
01-31-11, 07:37
True but then why does it become less reliable over time as parts wear ?

There has to be certain parts involved that wear over time and make this technique less repeatable. Finding out which parts are involved is what I'd like figure out.

Kevin P
01-31-11, 10:19