PDA

View Full Version : 2 stage trigger

rescue1
08-08-06, 12:46
Im kinda new to this whole thing so I need some advice. I think I want a 2 stage trigger for my rifle. but if someone could please describe the difference between a 2 stage and a regular trigger I would appresciate it. also does anyone know where I can get a 2 stage for a reasonable price

bigthicket
08-08-06, 13:29
On a 2-stage trigger, the first stage is taking up the slack , then you feel a stop[sort of] and you pull the final stage like a single stage. Hell, this did not come out like i think it should sound. Next.......:D

bigthicket
08-08-06, 13:40
O.K. a 2-stage feels lighter than it really is, because you preload the springs when you take up the slack. I have a RRA 2-stage and a Chip Mc. Match single stage. I put them in myself, [not a gunsmith]. I like the McCormick for target shooting, but i think it is light for a defense rifle. Hope this helps. Wayne

TacDoc
08-08-06, 14:17
The best all around 2 stage trigger and still at an AFFORDABLE price is RRA. You can try it for less than $100 and if you like it you can always upgrade to a Geissele.

ncshooter
08-09-06, 05:47
I have a Jard single stage and a RRA two stage. The RRA breaks at about 3 1/2 lbs with standard springs and about 3 lbs with JP reduced springs. The Jard breaks at about 2 lbs. During firing it is very hard to tell the difference in weight. What is easy to tell the difference in is the take up. The RRA moves very easily to a point where resistance is felt (Stage 1). Then a very crisp break to fire the shot (Stage 2). The Jard has very little to no take up and breaks the shot much like Stage 2 of the RRA. IMHO, its a matter of taste as to which one folks like better.

svtar15
08-09-06, 08:15