PDA

View Full Version : rem. 770 Sportsman Bolt Action .308 or Savage stevens Model 200 bolt action .308

pbmaster2k89
02-03-11, 23:19
which one should i get? or should i get neither? my price limit isnt great, only willing to spend $400

tpd223
02-04-11, 01:35
I have no experience with that model of Remington except that they are ugly as hell and feel cheap.

I have owned several Savage rifles over the years, and all of them were well made, accurate rifles that gave me no issues.

My most current deer rifle is an impulse buy Savage .308 that I picked up at Cabelas a couple of months ago. Was one of the package deals with a 3X9 scope, synthetic stock, like $399 IIRC.
With Federal 150gr SP from a sandbagged prone it's a 1 1/4" gun. Although folks like to talk sub MOA, I find it's rather rare in real life, and that a low cost-no special effort taken 1"-1 1/2" gun is actually damn accurate when all the BS is boiled off.

orkan
02-04-11, 02:49
The 770 is a pile of crap. The stevens is better, but not much better.

Save more money.

That is all.

carbinero
02-04-11, 10:33
For the Stevens 200, IIRC it's the same platform as a Savage 110, so you could build around it as you feel the need and have the dough. This seems to me a great starting point for someone on a severe budget.

However, I far prefer the 700, so I recommend shopping the sales and even looking for a gently used one, which you should be able to find for around $400. I got a camo ADL varmint with good bases, cheap rings and scope, from Di_k's last year for $450. Since then I've seen an SPS-V barely used for $450.

ucrt
02-04-11, 10:55

Remington should be ashamed of offering the 710 and 770 as "variations" of their 700. Calling them crap is being nice.

I saw a new Remington 700 with a cheap Remington Scope at Wal-Mart for $429 this past Fall. I'm sure it wasn't up to the Remington 700 of old but it was a 700.