PDA

View Full Version : Test drove a G19 today

QuadBomb
02-05-11, 18:06
I know, it's not exactly charting new territory or reviewing the latest handgun to hit the market. But the only trigger time I've ever had behind a Glock was 5 rounds through a G27 about two years ago. It was new for me and the G19 is revered around here, so as a noob I thought I'd come here and share my experience.

I own two handguns, both .45s: a Springfield TRP and an HK45c. Used to subscribe to the "bigger is better" school of thought when it came to handgun caliber, but after being a member here for less than a year I want my next handgun to be a 9mm. Just got married, and my wife and I paid for the whole thing ourselves. Right now we're busy paying down our school debt and putting money in savings, so new acquisitions aren't much of a priority these days. But I was at the range blowing some birdshot with my 870 (cheap!) and I decided to rent the G19 and shoot a box of 9mm through it.

The size of the G19 is just about perfect. Just big enough to have a decent length barrel and hold plenty of ammo but still quite compact enough to conceal. I'd never really paid attention, but after using it the slide stop isn't so small after all, despite what I'd heard from other non-Glock users before. Recoil was light and easy to manage, and the action was smooth. Lots of guys knock the trigger pull, but it should come as no surprise to anyone here that it was not bad at all. Easy to get used to, if somewhat different from what I have shot before.

The sights are different too. It took some focus to align them correctly. I kept shooting a bit high; my natural grip was elevating the front sight blade higher than the rear sight. Must have been the Glock grip angle. But, with some practice I forced myself to lower the front sight and with each trigger pull I was rewarded with the clang of the bullet striking steel.