PDA

View Full Version : new man

terry205
02-06-11, 09:15
I am new to ar world. I am 57 years old and know about orther types of guns i just never had a ar gun. Please help me to decide $2,500.00 to spend to start with. Any and all my guns will be handed down to my son. AND I HOPE ALL FATHERS WILL DO THE SAME FOR THERE SONS AND DAUGHTERS.

Rohardi
02-06-11, 09:27
For $2500, You could get a Knights SR15 E3. It comes ready to go all out of the box. Comes with knights Back up Iron sights, 2 stage trigger, it's fully ambidextrous, LMT SOPMOD stock, Knights URX mid length rail system and knights vertical fore grip. It also comes with the Knight's enhanced bolt, witch is designed to have an extended service life. It is a extremely light rifle, yet it's probably the lightest shooting AR15 out of the box. You can pick up the rifle for around $2000... At that point you could find a Aimpoint for $500/mount and pretty much be good to go. only other things you would need would be a light, sling and mags...

Here's a thread discussing why The Knights SR-15 is such an amazing rifle

http://m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=58268&highlight=sr15

Here's the link to the SR-15 on knights sight

http://www.knightarmco.com/sr15.html

MookNW
02-06-11, 09:43
I'd drop $1200 on a nice gun, colt/dd/bcm . Grtactical has a complete 16" bcm middie for $999. At that price, you could get a boss optic, 1k of ammo , a couple of doodads and carbine 1 class. Knights is a good rifle though.
Edit: or you could get two 6920's and go shooting with the youngster.

Hmac
02-06-11, 09:53
If that is your budget for the rifle (not including training courses and thousands of rounds of ammo), subtract about $750 for optics, sling, extra magazines and other miscellaneous accessories and start shopping for rifles $1750 and below. You don't HAVE to spend that much to get a good, serviceable rifle, but that amount will buy you a good one.