PDA

View Full Version : Optic Suggestions - Anyone used eotech xps2-1?

Eric D.
02-06-11, 21:53
I'm completely new to optics so I decided to do some experimenting.
The function I'm looking for is home defense/close range with the potential for added magnification. I know I'm looking for some type of RDS. I recently got an EOtech 512 with the LaRue mount. The only issue is my eyesight. I didn't know the reticle would be so blurry (I'm 20/70 in my right eye). I can distinguish the center dot without my glasses, and its perfectly clear with my glasses but I'm concerned with how effective I would be if had to grab my rifle quickly with no time to get the glasses. Its just one of those things that's gonna get to me.

As an alternative I was looking at aimpoints, specifically the Micro H-1 and Comp ML-3. Is it correct that people with poor eyesight do better with aimpoints? How do these optics compare to the EOtech when shooting with both eyes open?

Can anyone comment on these two, or provide any other ideas?
All help is appreciated.

Grunt Medic TXARNG
02-06-11, 22:17
I'm in a similar situation; I'm nearsighted in my dominant eye and have issues with resolving RDS and ACOG reticles. My short term solution will most likely be to go with a contact lens for that one eye (my other has normal vision) - and eventually looking into laser vision correction.

darr3239
02-06-11, 22:33
I have a 512, and get what you are talking about. I wear contacts, and I made my right eye for reading, since I'm right handed and use my right eye with pistols. The dot and circle isn't perfect, but when I turn the intensity down to where it's just bright enough to be useful, the blurring goes away almost entirely. I think a lot of people make the dot way to bright, which also seems to take your focus off your target, and onto the dot. Try dialing it back and see what you think.

SkiDevil
02-06-11, 22:34