PDA

View Full Version : Please help me draft a letter to my college regarding campus carry.

mhanna91
02-08-11, 09:49
Hey guys,

I am currently a sophomore at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana. In case you are wondering, my majors are Psyc and Crim. Justice. I enjoy my right to carry a handgun daily, and have done so almost every day since I recieved my CCW permit a few months after turning 18. I do not live on campus, I commute from about 45 minutes away, and as the university's policy dictates I am forced to leave my gun locked up at home. In the wake of the recent massacres carried out by disgruntled college students, I feel quite naked wearing my EMPTY Raven Concealment holster to class (I dont care to even take the time to remove the holster from my belt, as I have my gun on me before and after school at all times). We are, however, allowed to carry a pocket knife with a <3" blade:rolleyes:. Campus carry is something that I feel very strongly about, and I would like to write a letter to the policy makers at the university explaining the benefits and philosophy of state-licensed CCW holders carrying on campus. I do not expect to change their minds by any means, but it will never happen unless the idea is brought to their attention.