PDA

View Full Version : Garage Inventory

Heavyweight
02-08-11, 14:03
I'm sure a lot of you professionals know exactly what kind of "parts inventory" you have on hand at any given time. Me, I'm just a hobbyist who's been buying, upgrading or building ARs for about 10 years. And I like tinkering with them almost as much as shooting them. I usually don't have more than two ARs at any given point in time and my wife has been on my ass to clean out my parts bins that I have stacked up in the workshop setup in my garage. Takes up a lot of space I guess. Well, I went through it all last Sunday and here is what I found:

-3 CMT LPKs new in package
-1 CMT upper receiver
-1 CMT MPI tested full auto BCG I bought a while back from Bravo
-2 CMT upper parts kits new in package
-2 complete milspec m4 buffer tube/extension kits
-3 Carbine weight buffers
-2 H buffers
-1 H3 buffer
-1 Wilson 11.5" barrel, chrome lined
-1 Bushmaster 14.5" non-chrome barrel
-1 Timney drop in trigger
-6 A2 flash hiders
-1 Vortex flash hider
-2 M4 style barrel extensions
-2 barrel nuts
-3 A2 style FSBs
-3 carbine length gas tubes
-4 A2 pistol grips
-3 standard black m4 stocks
-4 sets black carbine length forearms w/ heatshields
-1 MOE stock, OD green
-1 MOE grip, OD green
-1 MOE carbine forearms, OD green
-more misc. springs, pins, and screws than could be counted

And this is only the AR related stuff! I buy stuff when it goes on sale even if I don't need it and it goes into the bin. When I upgrade parts on a gun the originals go in the bin. Well, I consolidated everything into fewer bins to make the wife think I'd actually done something and then promptly ordered a lower so I can build an SBR! Shit.....$80 plus the $200 for the tax stamp feels like I'm getting it for free! I dare say I've also got enough 1911 parts (minus the frames) to put together two complete guns with some good custom features!