PDA

View Full Version : Any electricians in the house?

rushca01
02-10-11, 19:16
I'm sitting her watching TV when it clicks off along with my stereo satelite etc.. Nothing else in the house goes off just the TV etc.. So I get up to try and turn it all back on and no go.

Check the breaker box and nothings is flipped.
Checked all GFI circuits (1 kitchen 1 in bathroom) there're good to go.

Unplug the TV etal and go flip the main breaker and still doesn't fix my problem. I got an extension cord and plugged my TV etal in the cord and ran it to a working outlet and now I have TV again.

I have 1 whole socket, 1 half socket, 1 whole light switch in the living room not working and one halway socket and one halway light switch. Everything else in the house works and no breakers are flipped.......WTF?

Abraxas
02-10-11, 19:44
Ask Meanrider

chadbag
02-10-11, 22:23
I am not an electrician. My eyes glaze over when this sort of thing comes up.

However, I did successfully install an INSTEON home automation light switch in place of the regular one and it works and my house did not burn down.

I think the segments are wired in series and I would suspect one of your outlets or switches had a failure in a juncture that broke one of the legs (of the 2 in the circuit) and since they are in series everything after it on that segment past that broken switch our outlet doesn't work.

montanadave
02-11-11, 07:20
You did not mention whether the two non-functioning switches control any ceiling lights and whether those lights are working? Are the two non-functioning switches 2-way switches (when you flip the switch in the hall, does it turn off the living room switch)? And did the wall switch control the power to the outlet which you had your TV and sat box plugged into?