PDA

View Full Version : CMMG 300 Black Out Uppers

shadow65
02-17-11, 16:03
Just to let you know, the 300 BA uppers are available now:
http://cmmginc.secure-mall.com/shop/?cat=20

Airhog
02-17-11, 21:06
Shadow65, can you explain the pistol length gas system on the 16in. barrel for me. I'm new at building these guns and would like to know the reasoning behind this. Thanks

shadow65
02-17-11, 23:03
Quote from the boss. I've not had an opportunity to test these so I'm in the dark.
"
I am a really big fan of the pistol system. It really seems to meter the gas better than the carbines. Both will work but the pistol seems to be better suited for running largest range of ammo. "

nhskull21
02-18-11, 01:42
Now for ammo.

Gunpowder
02-18-11, 09:27
My impression with AR's has always been that the closer you stay to the original design the more likely you are to have a reliable rifle. So when I see CMMG come out with 16" barrels with a pistol length gas system I am immediately turned off.

I have no doubt CMMG knows more about AR's than I do but I would still like someone to explain to me how this gas system makes sense. Has anyone tried this in a 5.56 with a 16" barrel?

I did notice that CMMG does offer to drill the gas port in the carbine position.

rsgard
02-18-11, 09:31
My impression with AR's has always been that the closer you stay to the original design the more likely you are to have a reliable rifle. So when I see CMMG come out with 16" barrels with a pistol length gas system I am immediately turned off.

I have no doubt CMMG knows more about AR's than I do but I would still like someone to explain to me how this gas system makes sense. Has anyone tried this in a 5.56 with a 16" barrel?

I did notice that CMMG does offer to drill the gas port in the carbine position.