PDA

View Full Version : Iron sights for my 870?

JSTICFRALL
02-20-11, 12:13
My wonderful girlfriend bought me a brand new Remington 870 Express for Christmas this year and I'm starting to look for some upgrades. It came with just a bead at the end of the barrel but I'd like to upgrade it to a set of iron sights. I'm not really interested in putting any kind of optic (RDS) or anything like that on there, so having a rail installed isn't important to me. I found these Trijicon ghost ring sights ( http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=109166&cm_mmc=Froogle-_-Gunsmithing%20-%20Gun%20Sights%20%28Metallic%29-_-PriceCompListing-_-109166 ) on Midway that are more or less what I'm looking for, however since I'm new to the 870, I wasn't sure if there was anything better/more affordable that you guys knew about. And in case it matters, I'm setting the shotgun up for home defense.

ICANHITHIMMAN
02-20-11, 12:38
I am running thouse sight on my shotgun their great. If you look through the brownells cataloge their are some more options as well.

The Cat
02-20-11, 13:15
First off, kudos to the cool girlfriend :) Second, great question - I'm wanting to solve that particular sight conundrum myself.

ChicagoTex
02-20-11, 13:47
Is your receiver already tapped for ghost rings?

If not, you'll have to do it yourself or send it in to a gun shop.

This is why my compromise with my express was to get a rifle sighted barrel (where both the rear and front sight are on the barrel). I'd prefer Ghost Rings, but can't lay out that kind of cash right now.

KCabbage
02-20-11, 14:12
The Triji's are nice. They're basically the same as the Scattergun Technologies but cheaper. MMC also makes shotgun sights.

JSTICFRALL
02-20-11, 15:17
Is your receiver already tapped for ghost rings?

Unfortunately it's not. I figured if I got that set-up I'd just take it to the smith and have it drilled and tapped. I do have a drill press and a tap set though...

ChicagoTex
02-20-11, 15:47