PDA

View Full Version : Oakley Assault Boots

barca101
02-21-11, 10:53
Greetings,

I was perusing the Oakley SI website and is interested in purchasing the 6" black boots for duty use. Anyone have any experience in sizing, quality, and shipping?

The design looks different. They look comfortable to wear and it appeared they reinforced the sole, where most of the complaint come from.

UCFiveOh
02-21-11, 16:56
I've been wearing Oakley SI boots for about 6+ years as a LEO. I love them. Sizing is consistent for me (10) with other brands I wear.

I've switched to Adidas GSG-9's a few times, but keep coming back to Oak's. I used the SI Shoes for bike patrol as well, well worth it for the government price.

Quality is great, they last me forever, but I'm a lightweight guy. Shipping from the gov't site has always been within a few days for shoes/boots.

SlapChopDonkey
02-21-11, 17:06
I've worn both the 6" and the 8" tan assault boots since I got my first pair in Iraq in 2006. On the first pair I got, the soles wore out after a few months, but I haven't had any issues with them since. And I've had nothing but great experiences through the SI website.

zodtgr8
02-21-11, 17:38
AS noted above, the only weak point on the SI boots are the soles, which wear out fast if your average day will be spend on some form of dismounted patrol.
The newest versions have Vibram soles so this may no longer be an issue.
That aside, they are excellent boots; Light, comfortable, and well-fitting.
My 8" hot weather SI's are my absolute favorite pair of boots and I will definitely be ordering a new pair in the not-too-distant future.

Aceventura
02-21-11, 17:58
Had a pair of the U.S made originals when they first came out(had to be cool). My only complaint was they made noise when the soles were wet.
Do they still do that?

Juicebox
02-21-11, 22:20