PDA

View Full Version : Optics recommendation

TXBob
02-21-11, 13:23
I know these thread always bring a certain "not this crap again" but I've tried to do some background to save everyone some time.

I have a Remington 700 PSS in 308.

I would like to set it up for long range precision shooting.

Most ranges around here are limited to 200 yards, with a few that can go to 500-600. (I know not really long range shooting, but I'm trying to deal with reality here).

Most shooting will thus be inside 200 yards. I know the rule of thumb is scope=rifle for cost, thus my budget is $1000 or less.

What I need is models to avoid, models to consider.

I'd like to do mil-dot reticule, not a fan of BDC but I have limited experience with either. My perspective is that the BDC is "fixed" and if I find it highly likely that different loads will not follow the BDC--thus it is better to go Mil-dot. I am open to correction.

Also is there any consideration to the type of mounting? Certain rings/mounting height?

With my limited range I was thinking 10X max mag or less, possibly a variable scope. I'd like it to be rugged, as I am of the opinion that even though most shooting is at the range, a trip to the wilderness won't make it go bottom up. I know some of the big names like Leupold, but not many others that seem to come up here.

MistWolf
02-21-11, 13:58
The BDC is nothing more than an elevation turret with marks to match a certain bullet trajectory. These marks are nothing more than a suggestion, a rapid reference. When I bought a Leupold sniper scope so many years ago, I wish I had understood this concept more clearly and would have gotten the model with a BDC elevation turret instead of the conventional turret

darr3239
02-21-11, 14:24
Here is a great write-up in my opinion. They liked the Zeiss. Still, if you aren't going to shoot over 200 yards, then anything will probably do. Even a non-variable 4 power scope.