PDA

View Full Version : New to the world of Carbine, need advice...

Dassem
02-22-11, 20:22
Greetings all,

I am new to the world of shooting firearms of the M4 family (and semi automatic rifles in general) and want to start out right. I have a few questions, and would greatly appreciate your thoughts.

1. Are there any brands/models of the M4 that are considered a good entry level M4, and if not, what are your recommendations?

2. I've been loading my own ammunition for my bolt actions since I learned to shoot. This usually amounted to around 300-400 rounds a year. Is loading my own ammunition for an M4 (or any semi) feasible? (this may seem redundant, but I am curious as to whether anyone else who made the transition to semis found that loading their own ammunition went from being a pleasure to a nightmare)

These were my two majors concerns, though any other advice you would like to give would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all in advance for your time,
Dass

ssracer
02-22-11, 20:34
Welcome!

If there is one thing this site will provide plenty of its advice and information. Most of it well worth listening to.

There are lots of companies that produce quality out of the box rifles that are good to go. What kind of budget are you looking at for your your rifle?

One of my new favorites, being that they are made nearby, are the rifles from Accurate Armory. They are relatively new and haven't made a name for themselves yet, but they put out a quality product. I know several people with their complete rifles and haven't heard one bad thing about them.

You can get their basic carbine for under $800

http://www.accuratearmory.com/Firearms/ClassicCarbine.aspx

Hmac
02-22-11, 20:34
There's a lot of information on this site. Someone will be along shortly to suggest you do a search.