PDA

View Full Version : What to look for when buying a used firearm.

TheGreenRanger24
02-22-11, 21:00
I would like to discuss what people look for when buying a used firearm.

Now to be completely honest, I grew up in a home that was not firearms friendly. While I did have friends that had guns growing up, they were mostly hunters and the type of guys that thought Ruger, Taurus, and such were the end-all-be-all manufacturers. Admittedly, I have very little knowledge about what consists of a good quality, but used, weapon. The reason that I'm looking into used guns is that money is tight and I have little practical experience with firearms, but I'd like to learn more.

So, since this board has a number of knowledgeable people, I'd like to ask a few questions that might be of use for folks like me:

a) What do you look for when buying a used firearm (handgun, revolver, shotgun, rifle, etc). Specific points of interest: what would make or break a deal for you, warning flags, etc.

b) What is your thought process considering price (obviously this point will vary depending on location, availability, and such). More precisely, how much is too much? Example: I've been to stores like Gander Mt. that has used Glocks at or around the same price as new ones . . . if not more expensive than what I could find elsewhere. :eek:

c) Where do you buy your guns at? Online, gun stores, pawn shops, etc?

If there's anything I'm not taking into consideration, please chime in.
Thanks!

(Mods: I did a search on this topic but didn't really find anything. If this thread is a repeat, feel free to delete.)

SteadyUp
02-23-11, 09:36
Are you looking for a particular make or model? Knowing what you're looking for can be helpful, as sometimes a particular gun has known issues to look for.