PDA

View Full Version : Aimpoint M4 & Magpul Rear Sight

jamaicanj
02-24-11, 08:50
I have a bushmaster M4A3. The carry handle has been removed and replaced with an Aimpoint M4. I bought a magpul rear flip up sight and have not put it on as yet.

This morning in the coffee room my coworker tells me that the magpul rear sight height is off and I won't be able to cowitness the sights due to the relative heights of the magpul rear sight, aimpoint m4 with standard mount, and the bushmaster front sight.

Of course I'm at work and not happy to hear this, so I'm checking to see if anyone can chime in to confirm or correct my coworkers opinion.

Thanks

All the best
J

ASH556
02-24-11, 08:55
I have a bushmaster M4A3. The carry handle has been removed and replaced with an Aimpoint M4. I bought a magpul rear flip up sight and have not put it on as yet.

This morning in the coffee room my coworker tells me that the magpul rear sight height is off and I won't be able to cowitness the sights due to the relative heights of the magpul rear sight, aimpoint m4 with standard mount, and the bushmaster front sight.

Of course I'm at work and not happy to hear this, so I'm checking to see if anyone can chime in to confirm or correct my coworkers opinion.

Thanks

All the best
J

Pure BS! First, the Magpul sight height is fine. Second, the Aimpoint is parallax free, so no matter where the dot is in the Aimpoint tube, it still hits POA/POI. The one area where your co-worker may be close to correct is that the Bushmaster does not (at leas with standard construction) use an "F" front sight base, meaning that you may need a taller front sight post to zero the Magpul rear. In either case, the Aimpoint will not be affected.

Safetyhit
02-24-11, 09:05
Tell your co-worker he is a dummy.

Smuckatelli
02-24-11, 09:13
the Aimpoint is parallax free,

Technical question; how do they make it parallax free?

I have no experience with Aimpoint only the Unertyl scope that I used with the M-40 A1.

ASH556