PDA

View Full Version : CMMG 10.3" barrel - questionable?

ROBZ71LM7
09-16-07, 18:16
I just disassembled my CMMG 10.3" upper to install a Larue handguard. First of the all the taper pins were SOFT. The pics show some of the mushrooming but most is gone because I managed to force them through. Also the rear taper pin hole drilled into the bottom of the barrel doesn't make me happy. Now I haven't removed a lot of gas blocks but the rear hole is almost drilled so low that the bottom of the barrel is gone.

Thoughts?

I'm thinking of putting it back together-selling it cheap and getting an LMT upper or a Sabre Defence barrel.

(As an aside, being a mechanical engineer I'm absolutely thrilled to have found an AR15 site with people that think and aren't blinded by gun jewelry.)

http://audiemurphy.net/bbl-bottom.jpg

http://audiemurphy.net/bbl-side.jpg

http://audiemurphy.net/pins.jpg

Shihan
09-16-07, 18:27
Dont sell it and take a loss on it sent it back to CMMG and have them either make it right or get refund.

ROBZ71LM7
09-16-07, 18:51
Well I just sent them an email with pics and respectfully asked how they intended to remedy the situation. Although I cannot say I would really want a CMMG barrel in what is going to be my go to weapon. This isn't the only issue I've had-I also had a bolt with a bad ejector from them. I'm disappointed having spent more money for their product expecting to get something better than a DPMS/RRA/Bushy upper.

Hopefully they'll take care of it and I can post a happy ending.

Here's a question: On the CMMG upper I have with M4 ramps: will an LMT or Sabre barrel extension line up with these? I'm hoping it's cut to spec.

chp5
09-16-07, 19:31
Give them a chance to get it right.

Some forum members seem to be down on CMMG, but I've had good luck with them.

Please let us know how it turns out.

gunny
09-16-07, 20:58