PDA

View Full Version : The Only Japanese Earthquake Thread

Rmplstlskn
03-12-11, 08:27
Nuclear Reactor in Japan blows up... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMEV-_X5b_8)

Besides the sad effects in Japan, what does all this mean for US? The world? Our economies?

Massive coastal flooding
Highways and infrastructure shifted, moved or destroyed
One of Japan's Nuclear Reactors blows up
Other nuclear plants in danger
Coastal shipping ports severely damaged
Unshipped inventory in port areas destroyed or damaged
Long-term power supply problems (less manufacturing)
Astronomical rebuild costs & possible insurance company failures
Manpower & resources going to rebuilding rather than export and manufacturing

I am not an expert, but I think this event may be the PUSH that sends the fragile, teetering economies of the world over the edge... (Except for those that actually MAKE THINGS, like China, where business will be booming)

How will this affect japanese auto imports (I have two Toyotas and love them)? Japanese electronics (most high-end electronics are made in Japan)? Computer components (memory plants in Japan)?

The long-term effects could be terrible for us... Makes preparedness all the more important...

Rmpl

EchoMirage
03-12-11, 09:05
easy. stop buying jap. support your country, buy American, and you wont have anything to worry about.

rubberneck
03-12-11, 09:45
easy. stop buying jap. support your country, buy American, and you wont have anything to worry about.

So I should by a Ford made in Canada instead of a Honda made in Ohio? Check the window stickers of cars made today. Not only will they tell you where the car was assembled but what percentage of the cars parts were made in the United States. Ford and GM are no more "American" than Toyota and Honda. By that I mean they use the same amount of American labor and products to build the car.