PDA

View Full Version : HCSO (TX) Reserve Request for Support

Longhorn
03-14-11, 18:04
First and foremost, I want to thank the staff here at M4C for allowing me to post this!! I didn't want to offend or intrude on any of the site(s) rules, so before posting I asked for permission and appreciate the help of Voodoochild as well as any other Administrators that helped in creating this. Their help and understanding is greatly appreciated.

My name is D. Kelman, I'm a current Detention Officer with the Harris County (TX) Sheriff's Office, and the Cadet Liaison for the Basic Peace Officer Course that our Reserve Academy is running.

The Harris County Sheriff’s Office Reserves is a 501(c)3 organization whose mission is to serve the citizens of Harris County.

We are comprised of over 200 men and women who volunteer their time and money to become fully qualified peace officers and serve our community. Our Reserves come from all walks of life and backgrounds. The Reserves have the same legal authority and responsibilities as regular Sheriff deputies except that they volunteer their services. As such, they are not employed officers and are not provided any financial benefits. In addition to law enforcement responsibilities, their public service obligations include philanthropic and charitable outreach. Our community outreach activities include the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, the BoyScouts of America, the Santa Program at TCH, and MD Anderson’s Light the Night.

Each year we recruit and train two classes with a total of 60-70 cadets. Each class is year-long commitment in and requires over 800 hours of training. In 2010, we contributed 110,943 hours to the community at a savings of $3,203,763.00 to the citizens of Harris County.