PDA

View Full Version : Is it hard to find local gunsmiths that know anything about ARs?

jpr8771
03-20-11, 17:13
ok let me start off by saying that my only knowledge of this platform is completely through you guys and the reading i have done on this forum...im the newbie but why do i feel like when i talk to most people at a gun range, (that have gun experience and should be knowledgable) they make me feel like i have more knowledge than them.

i mean i dont want to sound rude or like an ass or cocky...the people i have talked with today were very very nice people but i guess its like anything else, whatever they have is the best! i see it all the time in my profession...i play ball for a living and have to deal with people all the time that never played a lick and want to put their .02 in....everyone thinks they know what they dont know...so annoying....so maybe im being that guy but id like to think that i have been prepared at least with a great basic beginner knowledge of this platform by all the experts here.

so heres what happened....i am in florida for work for the time being and i had the day off...drove an hour to a pretty awesome range out around okeechobee....really cool place...shooting my new 16 in bcm middy for the first time because i just got my troy rear flip up sight in...a really nice guy sets in the lane beside me with his bushmaster carbine with carry handle and big ole eotech (i dont know which one it is...AA batteries one)