PDA

View Full Version : First Scope Ordered! Nikon 1-4x20 M223

ejewels
03-20-11, 21:27
So I just pulled the trigger on a new Nikon 1-4x20 M223 Scope for my 16" bbl Colt MT6400c. I also ordered the P.E.P.R mount for it. I'm a newbie with scopes, and from the research Ive done, it seems this is a good lower budget scope for the range and plinking. I have a few questions that maybe someone could answer.

1) My gun is a 16" bbl M4 AR. Is this scope legit for this application? I read some places that scopes can be very specific for bullet types. I always shoot XM193 55 grain 5.56 in mine at about 50 - 100 yards.

2) Anyone use this scope on their rifles? How do you all like it?? I come only from red dots, and i wanted some magnification.

Bimmer
03-20-11, 22:14
1) My gun is a 16" bbl M4 AR. Is this scope legit for this application? I read some places that scopes can be very specific for bullet types. I always shoot XM193 55 grain 5.56 in mine at about 50 - 100 yards.

Sure, why not?

You're shooting at point blank range, so the turrets and any ranging reticle don't really matter.

In fact, you're going to see a lot more difference in PoI and PoA from the scope offset above the bore than you will in trajectory at 50-100 yards — you'll impact lower at 50 yards, and higher at 100 yards.

2) Anyone use this scope on their rifles? How do you all like it???

No, but I have a couple Nikon Monarch 2-8x32s, and I think they're great...

ejewels
03-21-11, 08:22
Thanks, I'm new to scopes in general. Another noob question. When a scope is rated for a certain type of ammunition, does that mean you can't use the scope with other calibers /ammunition? Or does it just work best with that ammo? I've seen this scope mounted on 6.8's before, and it seems many mount it on various weapons with various barrel lengths...

Sounds like this scope is perfect for me since I don't shoot much past 200 yards.

bman940
03-21-11, 08:25