PDA

View Full Version : First Belt Setup

matchstick
03-21-11, 21:50
Hey guys, just getting into setting up a belt to train with, and I guess to use in a SHTF situation. I am fairly new to the AR game so I'm not exactly sure what I will want/need, but I think I have at least an initial idea so I started shopping.

I was going back and forth between a vest/chest rig and a belt, but after running a few dry fire drills I think the motion that best suits me would be a belt setup.

I made this somewhat on the cheaper end of the spectrum because like I said its my first setup, and if I don't like it I don't want to be stuck with $100's of dollars in equipment. I know I could sell some of it off, but meh.

Here's the list:
Condor Rigger's Belt - $27.55
Condor Battle Belt - $14.95
Condor Triple Kangaroo Mag Pouch - $20.95
Condor GLOCK Holster - $16.95

Grand Total: $80.40

I figure this will give me a good feel for what I like and don't like, and I can adjust from there. From what I have read as well the Condor pouches are pretty good quality, and so if I switch to a vest I can keep using the ones I like.

Anyways, I would love to have some input and suggestions from M4C because I know the knowledge base here is substantial.

WILDMAN442
03-21-11, 22:38
I have a condor war belt set up and I love it.

Does everything I need it to do.

Justin

Steve S.
03-21-11, 23:07
I greatly prefer running everything off a belt instead of a vest - but that's just my $0.02.

I do know some people who use both and use the vest to backfeed their first line belts. It helps for classes and situations where more mags are required between breaks. I usually just tuck a few mags in my back pockets though.

http://i1141.photobucket.com/albums/n585/PersonalSecurity/DSC02583.jpg

http://i1141.photobucket.com/albums/n585/PersonalSecurity/DSC02589.jpg

aflin
03-22-11, 09:46
I was thinking about running HGSI Taco's on a war belt. That way I can run both AK and AR mags.