PDA

View Full Version : Working the AR Safety

darr3239
03-23-11, 03:17
First off, I have hands that are about a close to being perfectly average in size as they make them.

I attended a Carbine course and had some issues with working the safety quickly. I realize a slight change of the grip is usually necessary to put the safety from fire to safe. My issue was moving the safety from the safe to the fire position.

I tried tilting the gun to the left, I'm right handed, and it seemed to help. None the less, after two days I never obtained what I would call a quick release of the safety.

I used a Magpul MOE grip, which I really like the feel of while firing. Don't know if I need to try another grip or what. Anyone else had this same issue? I'd appreciate any helpful advice and thanks in advance.

Iraqgunz
03-23-11, 04:47
My hands are probably about average or slightly above. I have no issues at all, but I have been shooting the AR for 24 years.

I have Tango Down pistol grips on my AR's and like them. Maybe that will work?

Or just do some continuous practice.

First off, I have hands that are about a close to being perfectly average in size as they make them.

I attended a Carbine course and had some issues with working the safety quickly. I realize a slight change of the grip is usually necessary to put the safety from fire to safe. My issue was moving the safety from the safe to the fire position.

I tried tilting the gun to the left, I'm right handed, and it seemed to help. None the less, after two days I never obtained what I would call a quick release of the safety.

I used a Magpul MOE grip, which I really like the feel of while firing. Don't know if I need to try another grip or what. Anyone else had this same issue? I'd appreciate any helpful advice and thanks in advance.

Joe R.
03-23-11, 05:28