PDA

View Full Version : Help me configure my first personal carbine.

rallyshooter
03-26-11, 08:37
I'll be purchasing my first personal carbine shortly after returning home from deployment in a few months. I have enough experience with my issued M4 that I have a solid idea of what I want/need out of a carbine. However, I have zero experience in the civillian market and I get pretty confused looking at all the options out there.

The rifle will be for all around general purpose use, from range use to carbine classes to home defense. I've decided that it will be a 16" middy with a CHF lightweight barrel. No rail/lights/optics for the initial purchase, I'd like to keep the rifle as simple as possible. Budget is approximately $1250 (i'd rather spend the extra money to do it right the first time, but budget is still somewhat of an issue)

Here's what I've come up with so far, looking at G&R Tactical for the purchase. Blemished BCM lower, MOE stock, Tango Down grip, and Magpul ASAP; $382. BCM Upper, BCG, Gunfighter charging handle and MOE handguards; $702. That puts me at $1084 without a rear sight, or about $1200 overall with it.

I've pretty much only looked at BCM because they seemed like the best value for the money. Not until recently had I thought about something like a Noveske upper, and I also havent been considering any military discounts or manufacturer specials (I was completely unaware that Noveske was [or still is?] offering a free lower with an upper purchase). I only thought about looking at Noveske because they seem to have the best barrels on the market, from what I've observed from searching. My points on choosing a noveske upper over BCM are the noveske barrel, and it already comes with a vortex flash hider and troy sight.