PDA

View Full Version : New 45 cal Cougar!

ShipWreck
03-26-11, 21:01
Picked up a 45 caliber Stoeger Cougar today... It's essentially a Beretta Cougar... Beretta owns Stoeger, and they sold the design and machinery to them.

I picked it up for $424 before tax and before discount, but as a probation officer, I qualified for the 5% LEO discount. It was like $401 - and $430 with tax after that.

I brought it home and changed the spring out for a D spring, and also changed out the grips for some new rubber Pearce Grips I bought a few months back.

I did notice that the stock spring was like 1/2 way between a factory 92FS spring and a "D" spring. It was just 2 coils longer than a "D" spring, instead of 4.

I did have an extra Beretta 92 lanyard loop, but the inside was longer than the flat piece they use on the Stoeger - so I had to leave the factory part in.

Anyway, great gun - can't wait to go shoot it soon.

Only pic I have so far:

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g320/mistershipwreck/cougar1.jpg

memphisjim
03-26-11, 21:26
Isn't the action the same as those px4 storm things?

ICANHITHIMMAN
03-26-11, 21:51
Isn't the action the same as those px4 storm things?

Yes, its a Stoner design. They point like shit! My wifes department had them and then they upgraded to the PX what ever pice of crap.

Glad you like the gun man

ShipWreck
03-26-11, 21:59
Gee, someone's not biased :D

Yes, the cougar came out in the 1990s - it was Berettas first rotating design before the PX4. I actually had one in 9mm when they VERY first came out in the mid 90's. The slide was blue steel instead of bruniton. Very nice gun.

Well, now I have had some time to play with it since my son is in bed now...

I will say that while I haven't fired the gun yet, it really balances fantastically.

One of the reasons I like the 92FS so much is the balance and feel of the gun, in a 1 handed grip - arm out stretched... The undercut trigger guard and rubber grips make it feel fantastic...