PDA

View Full Version : How to breakin a new AR?

paddle007
04-01-11, 20:50
Hey guys,
I'm a newbie with AR's so I have one question before running it. It has a 16" E R Shaw pencil barrel. Is there a breakin procedure?
I've stripped, cleaned and lubed the rifle as I found insructions with pics in these forums. Thanks for that.
I expect the typical "shoot the hell out of it" and if that is correct I will obey. If there is a cooling, cleaning, lube period between rounds I will begrudgingly oblige. I really want to fire away but I think this AR is keeper and I want to do it right!
Thanks,
Paddle007

If this topic has been asked forgive me. My search was not working and tomorrow will be here soon.

ssracer
04-01-11, 20:52
Lube, shoot, clean, repeat

philipeggo
04-01-11, 21:08
thinking about trying that Plate + product from Sprinco (sp) on my new gun once my BCG gets here. any thoughts ?

http://www.sprinco.com/plateplus.html

LowSpeed_HighDrag
04-01-11, 21:18

Do this, don't overthink the process.

Silver_2325
04-01-11, 21:22
Break in is two separate words for starters. And yeah, don't forget your oil...

Evil Bert
04-01-11, 21:23
Look all you need to do is the following:

Apply lubricant to your Bolt and front half of your carrier. Cycle the BCG a few times. Load up about 300 rounds. Use this break in period to sight in your rifle as well. There is no need to run through all that ammo in 10 minutes. Take your time. Enjoy the new rifle. After every 10-20 rounds or so, check some of the cases for unusual marks. Things like deep scratches, and just other things that may show something is out of spec.

After about 300 rounds or so, you should take her home, break her down and begin to clean her. During this time you want to inspect everything. Look for any cracking, etc. generally if you have a quality rifle you should have nothing to worry about.