PDA

View Full Version : Cover Garment for IDPA?

NightFighter
09-25-07, 17:09
I am going to my first IDPA match and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on cover garments? I am new to IDPA and do not want to spend a fortune on a cover garment. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance. :confused:

rob_s
09-25-07, 17:54
I shoot IDPA 2-3 times a month using nothing more than an untucked polo shirt or t-shirt as a cover garment. It's what I conceal with every day at work so it's how I compete.

At the level that the vast majority of us are "playing" at, having a weighted super-cool game vest vs. drawing from under a t-shirt isn't going to separate the winners form the losers.

rubberneck
09-25-07, 18:52
I am going to my first IDPA match and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on cover garments? I am new to IDPA and do not want to spend a fortune on a cover garment. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance. :confused:

Anything garment that covers your gun and holster when your arms are extended parallel to the ground is considered cover (there are a couple exceptions to that but it isn't something a new shooter should be worried about).

NightFighter
09-25-07, 20:42
Thanks for both of your inputs. I appreciate your time in answering my question.

Keith E.
09-26-07, 12:31
I use a Carharrt brand shirt in a Tall size as daily cover and gaming cover. Little tough in the hot months but not unbearable. I hope you enjoy the match.

Keith

Face_N_The_Crowd
09-26-07, 17:01
I shoot IDPA 2-3 times a month using nothing more than an untucked polo shirt or t-shirt as a cover garment. It's what I conceal with every day at work so it's how I compete.

But the IDPA gurus all have super fly 5:11 vests and debate the merits of 9mm v .45 ACP while sitting on their ass (and not taping / brassing / scoring) and seguing the conversation into IDPA is real world training......

Oh how I aspire to be a guru......

mayonaise
09-26-07, 21:59