PDA

View Full Version : Need HELP! Gas system issues.

Longhorn86
04-02-11, 23:47
I'm new here to M4Carbine, I was referred by a friend and I'm so glad he did, I have done a lot of reading.Thanks guys for all the hard work. Now to my question. I have an decent quality 14.5 upper made by a local guy (NC). I'm running a AAC M4-1000. I have blown 2 sets of gas rings in 1000 rounds(Rem). I bought the solid one piece gas ring and it has worked so far but the brass are black when they come out. There is no resistance between the bolt and the carrier though and I don't think that's cool. I can't tell what the buffer is either, I can't see any markings. I talked to the guy who made the barrel and the gas port out of the barrel is .0072 he said that if I brought it back he would make it .0082 (which is what he doing now to newer ones). I don't know if that is the answer or not and I'm not experienced enough using suppressors to make a call. I would also like to have the real MIL-Specs so I would know buffer size and gas port hole size etc. Any ideas?:suicide2:

Eric D.
04-03-11, 00:04
WHAT? I hope this is typed wrong. .072 is more believable but still a little big for that barrel, even more so being suppressed. The gun would not run at all with a gas port 7 thousandths wide.

I talked to the guy who made the barrel and the gas port out of the barrel is .0072 he said that if I brought it back he would make it .0082

What exactly do you mean by "blown gas rings"? What brand of bcg are you using?

There should be resistance between the carrier and bolt. If you set the assembled bcg upright on the bolt face, with the bolt pulled out, the bolt should not retract under the carrier's own weight.

If you have access to a small scale, weigh the buffer and someone can tell you what it is. Typically, H3's are unmarked but my H3 from g&r is indeed marked as such.