PDA

View Full Version : Summer "tactical" pants

rob_s
04-05-11, 07:50
I thought there was a thread on this but I can't get either search to work for me.

As we enter into the warmer months (it's already hit 80+ here) I am reminded again that I want a lightweight pant for the summertime. If they also have a similar-cut short-pant to maintain some consistency, all the better.

I've found the Vertx to be too heavy for hot weather wear, and I think their short-pant is too short.

I have no experience with the Eotac, but I have several pairs of long- and short-pants of the Woolrich Elite from when Fernando was there and I can't imagine they are substantially different. I find the pants too baggy and the short-pants too short.

At this point I'm leaning towards simply buying a couple of pairs of summer-weight BDU pants, but frankly I don't know who's making decent ones now.

Jay Cunningham
04-05-11, 08:17
Rob,

Give SeV a look:

http://www.scottevest.com/v3_store/subindex_pants_shorts.shtml

Iraq Ninja
04-05-11, 09:01
Rob,

Not sure if you heard, but EOTAC went tits up on March 31st. Some of their pants and other items are on sale at Sportsmanguide.com

Another good hot weather pant was the lightweight LAPolice gear 911 copies. Sadly, they had issues with the Chinese getting them made on time and are supposed to be dropping the line.

I agree that the Vertx is a bit too warm.

Rmplstlskn
04-05-11, 09:11
Why not the thin nylon "fishing pants"? They have lots of pockets, leg movement room, and most are well-made with reinforcment stitching in key areas, plus most have SPF protection...
Columbia Fishing Pants (http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_-1_10001_19297_625006002_625000000_625006000?hvarAID=shopping_googlebase&om_mmc=shopping_googlebase)

I wear those fishing shirts all the time in summer but only have a couple of the pants, but they seem to work well...

Rmpl

kcmo83
04-05-11, 09:18