PDA

View Full Version : New Rifle: Arrived Dirty...?

Ark1443
04-17-11, 09:03
First off, been reading these forums for over two years everyday (its my morning paper :sarcastic: ), just rarely post.

After gathering all the information I required from this website and others, I recently purchased my first AR, a "new" Daniel Defense M4v3 midlength gas system AR.

Today during my take down and cleaning of the AR, it was noticeably dirty. The first few patches that I ran through it, even after a bore snake, were pitch black with fouling. The firing pin had a small amount but noticeable of carbon on it, though it whipped clean off.

Everything seems quite new, and lacked reasonable lubrication, but the barrel took three cleanings to make it even resemble being a new barrel.

Is this normal? I am new to the AR platform, and I know I purchased from one of the top manufacturers, and that they test it before it leaves their factory, but I was rather surprised that they'd send out a rifle so dirty. The barrel even now, with my bore light, does not look as smooth as my Springfield M1A standard which has had a fair few rounds put through it, or even my .22 which has even more through it... And neither of those rifles came dirty.

Can someone help put my worried mind to rest here?

Belmont31R
04-17-11, 09:06
1. A good company will actually test fire their rifles before being sent out.

2. If you bought from the wrong person they might have had a little test spin.

Maybe just 1. Maybe just 2. Maybe both.

Rebel Rifle Ordnance
04-17-11, 09:08
My understanding is that all guns are test fired from the factory. Depending on what kind of ammo they used, could lead to more fouling than usual. I wouldn't worry about it in the least.