PDA

View Full Version : Any salt water keepers here?

Belmont31R
04-20-11, 22:36
Ive got some immature FW going now but want to get into SW since it interests me much more.

Will be setting up a tank soon as I get parts. Can maybe do one major part a month so I wont have an operational tank for a while.

Just want to see if anyone here has a fish hobby besides guns...

chadbag
04-20-11, 22:44
Post your experiences, would you? I have no fish experience or hobby but have thought about it (doing SW reef tank) some day.

Right now all we have is a dozen land hermit crabs (across about 5 species), 1/2 of which have buried themselves at any one time (only a portion of those molting).

Belmont31R
04-20-11, 22:57
I have been into FW for a little bit. Not much going on since I just have a small tank. I want to get a bigger tank (55+) and can get a good local price on an aqueon 65. LFS guy said the 65 is better for SW since it allows better flow over the reef than the 55 since the 55's are narrow.

Doing this more because I always like biology, and I grew up with a couple tanks in the house and want my kids to have as many natural exposures as possible. Want to involve them when they are old enough. Nothing like a little reef in the house to teach kids science.

I figure my 65G SW setup will be ~1k minus any live rock, fish or coral. Wont add live coral until the tank is a few months up and running.

ALCOAR
04-20-11, 23:06
One of my best pals used to have a SW only aquarium business and I'm a religious fisherman both fresh and salt(it relates as I'm a conservation nazi, and practice 100% catch and release methods including the use of circle hooks where applicable)