PDA

View Full Version : Stock options for 20" SPS Tactical (.308)

NavyDavy55
04-21-11, 00:55
I have the 20" SPS Tactical (.308) with a rubber Hogue stock. I'm very new to precision shooting but read a lot about the stock flexing. So I want to upgrade my stock.

I'm looking at the Bell and Carlson Medalist Light Tactical Rifle Stock Remington 700 BDL Short Action with Aluminum Bedding Block System Varmint Barrel Channel Synthetic Black, and the H-S Precision Pro-Series Rifle Stock Remington 700 BDL Short Action Police Sniper Varmint Barrel Channel Synthetic Black.

Can anyone tell me anything about these two stocks?

They're both under $300.

Will either make much difference to a new shooter?

Thanks.

MistWolf
04-21-11, 05:46
How does your rifle shoot with the stock it has?

Gutshot John
04-21-11, 09:47
How does your rifle shoot with the stock it has?

Bingo.

It's one of those things that gets bandied about the gun forums and repeated as gospel but no one has actually quantified it in any meaningful way.

A random gun forum junkie sees the forestock flex (slightly), assume it must be touching the barrel and accordingly must have a profound harmonic effect, they can't hit their target (because they're new shooters) and so assume it's the stock and not them. This tidbit of "wisdom" gets repeated online until it becomes the worst piece of junk ever to be foisted on the public. This trend isn't even specific to the Hogue/SPS stock.

The stock doesn't flex that much, I've tried it, I've played with it and I can still slide a dollar bill between the barrel and the stock. It may appear to be touching (slightly) but it isn't and even if it was the effect would be so minimal as to be non-existant for all practical purposes.

Using the Hogue stock at a sniper course I was able to hit at 1000 yards without difficulty. Ammo selection, optic, training play an exponentially greater role. Rule out those variables first.