PDA

View Full Version : How Stable Are Gooseneck Mounts?

tinfinger
10-02-07, 17:37
I'm considering getting an A1 or A2 style upper but want to use a red dot, holosight, or maybe even a scout scope. The gooseneck mounts seem like they would get battered out of zero somewhat easily, but seem popular. Are they fairly stable?

TIA

rhino
10-02-07, 19:00
If you have a choice, you'll be much happier with a flat top.

To answer your question, it depends on the gooseneck you buy. If you get one of the crappy knockoffs you can find for $20-50 depending on where you get, you'll be displeased with how much it moves, and that's if you can get it tight in the first place.

On the other hand, if you get a BC-CAM and loc-tite the screw/nut, it holds pretty well. The ARMS and GG&G versions are probably pretty good too, but I have no direct experience with them.

Again, go with a flat top if you have a choice.

tinfinger
10-03-07, 17:18
I understand the flattop is better at optics. I guess I'm stuck on the idea that the ultimate BUIS is just the service sights to start with.

What about a scout-type optic on the top of a free float quad rail? Both a gooseneck and free-float rails are cantilevered, but free float rails should be (unless I'm missing something) a heck of alot stiffer due to their cross-section.

Shihan
10-03-07, 17:39
You dont want to mount otics on your FF rail for reasons of holding zero. One thing to remember is that BUIS are what they are "back Ups" and nothing more and that your standard optics should take prescendnce in your optic dicession.

Canonshooter
10-03-07, 18:28
I have to agree - flat tops rule for optics.