PDA

View Full Version : I'm having some trouble with my M&P 40 Magazines

thebutcher
04-24-11, 17:37
I just picked up a VTAC M&P 40 and I'm new to the platform. I'm trying to get a feel for the pistol's functionality before depending on it.

What I'm experiencing is with the slide locked back, the magazine will not drop at all when fully loaded. They (2 of them) start having problems dropping after loaded with five rounds. Both of my 9mm magazines drop free without issue no matter how many rounds are loaded. All of them drop free without issue when they are empty. Anyone else notice this also? Does loading the 40 magazines cause that much expansion of the tube or could they just be defective? I realize not to rely on them dropping free in any situation but it just seems odd to me that they don't budge even with the added weight.

Another thing I've noticed is that you can't chamber a round by hand. If it doesn't load from a mag the extractor just beats the hell out of the casing and the slide doesn't fully close. Is that normal? (this test was not done with live ammo)

Thanks

Palmguy
04-24-11, 18:05
Don't load/chamber the gun by hand...always load from a mag.

What you've experienced is normal.

Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk

Dos Cylindros
04-24-11, 18:12
As far as the mag not dropping free with a loaded mag, I don't know the answer. I would wager they are bulging and thus not willing to drop free. The early generation glocks were this way by design, but I have never seen or heard of it with metal mags like the M&P mags.

As far as loading the chamber by hand goes, you should not be doing that. The gun was designed to feed from the magazine, and dropping the slide on a live round is called "bubba loading" for a reason. It is not good for the extractor and shows poor weapon manipulation skills. The only place this type of loading is actually done is in the movies.

Nephrology
04-24-11, 18:28