PDA

View Full Version : IWB vs. OWB?

LRB45
04-29-11, 07:50
What are the pros/cons of the different holsters for IWB vs. OWB?

Which do you like and why? Or do some people use one and switch to the other at other times?

Thanks

RRVII
04-29-11, 08:00
I can't speak to OWB, because I have never carried that way. I do, however, carry daily IWB. My set up is a S&W M&P 9c in a Comp-tac Minotaur holster with c-clips at about 3:30 - 4:00. I have found this set-up very comfortable and concealable either tucked or untucked. My typical dress for work is a pair of dress slacks or cotton khakis with either a tucked dress shirt, polo, or untucked "camp" type shirt. I have been using this setup for several months and have never been "made" or had anyone question the c-clips on my belt. I will say, that if I had it to do over, I may have ordered the standard clips, because I don't think they would be much more noticeable than the c-clips. Comp-tac also makes v-clips, but you need to put a peice of velcro on the inside of your belt, so I haven't tried those.

The only con for me on this setup would be that a tucked shirt does make for slower and more cumbersome access to your firearm.

Randy V.

jc75754
04-29-11, 08:43
+1 for the comp tac. I carry this with the regular clips and usually carry in jeans and t-shirt. Easily conceals my glock 19 at 4:00 or SOB. My wife does not even notice around the house.

WillBrink
04-29-11, 09:26
What are the pros/cons of the different holsters for IWB vs. OWB?

Which do you like and why? Or do some people use one and switch to the other at other times?

Thanks

OWB for me. As far as I know, the only major pro for IWB over OWB is concealment. Others may have other pros I'm failing to consider for IWB vs OWB. I'd rather dress around the gun as needed, then have a gun stuck down my pants all day which I don't find comfortable or as accessible as a good OWB set up.