PDA

View Full Version : My new barrel on my M4?

TigerStripe
08-12-06, 15:33
The new barrel on my M4 seems to only like two loads. Remington green & white box 55gr fmj and a 75gr load. It patterns Radway Green like a shotgun, by far the worst load for this barrel. Is this how the barrel is going to be, will it break in more and get better or ....

TIA,

TS

Diz
08-12-06, 15:41
Could be the RG, not your piece.

TigerStripe
08-13-06, 00:13
The barrel I had before liked it. Basically everything the old barrel liked the new barrel doesn't except for 75gr loads. :confused: Thanks Diz!

TS

ChromeLined
08-13-06, 01:03
what kind of barrel?and what twist rate?chromelined or not? or stainless?

TigerStripe
08-13-06, 01:19
what kind of barrel?and what twist rate?chromelined or not? or stainless?

Oops... It's a CMMG M4A1 Socom 1:7 14.5 w/ Phantom 5C2 Chrome-lined. I'm not really a newbie. The old barrel was/is the first barrel I've shot out. Usually I grow tired of one AR, sell it and buy a new one. Some to my great lament.

Thanks,

TS

ChromeLined
08-13-06, 04:34
Damn that barrel should shoot anything from 55 grain to 77 grain and even 80s with a 1x7..plus its a medium weight..the only thing I can think of is maybe find out how the rifling is done..I know Bushmaster button rifles the bores..I forget how H&K does theirs but I would think that it should be grouping well with anything.I have an M4 profile 1x7 Bushmaster barrel that groups great with any weight bullet up to 77..I havent tried anything heavier than that.Ive heard horror stories about radway green ammo mostly doing damage to ARs but ive never used it my self.