PDA

View Full Version : Trigger, FF Rail, or Optic?

OldState
05-01-11, 11:33
I am looking for some advice. I purchased my first modern "fighting rifle" (an LE6920) a few months ago and have about 600 rounds through it. My background in firearms had been primarily competition pistols, clay shooting, and historic and black powder rifles.

Right now my rifle holds 1.5 MOA with M855 which impressed me. However making that happen with the stock trigger takes quite a bit of concentration. I hate the trigger and know what a good trigger feels like. My 1911 triggers feel like hair triggers compared to my AR.

I also had some initial zeroing issues until I started shooting using the mag as a rest point. Resting on the hand guards causes the groups to open up or shift considerably.

I temporarily slapped a JPoint MRD sight that I had on their AR mount to the rifle. I wanted to see if I like the red dot before I considered an Aimpoint. I have an astigmatism and realized I probably wont like a red dot past 50 yards (it would have to be 2MOA). I was considering a 1-4 optic instead.

So that my wife doesn't complain I would like to spread these purchases over the next few months....so what should I get first-a FF rail, trigger (looking at a Geissele), or optic?

Disclaimer: I am enrolled for Carbine I and II over the next 2 months and I'm sitting on 1500 rounds of ammo. So I'm not looking for the "buy more ammo and get some training" answer here.
I know this is not target rifle but accuracy adds a considerable amount to the fun factor for me. Plus I like the confidence accurate rifles bring.

graffex
05-01-11, 12:44
I would definitely get a good optic first. The stock trigger is fine, learn to like it :)

CarlosLehder
05-01-11, 12:49
if you want both you will probably get them down the road, I would purchase the one with a more immediate need

SomeOtherGuy
05-01-11, 12:58