PDA

View Full Version : Information Needed Regarding Night Vision

DeltaSierra
05-03-11, 18:23
I have no experience whatsoever with NODS, so I am looking for advice from those that have in-the-field experience.

I do not like to buy cheap gear. If I buy something, I buy high quality, but in my efforts to research NV, I usually find that company ______ is advertising their product as Military Grade, when it is not actually up to spec.

I want a good quality optic, that I can mount on my rifle (which happens to be a Daniel Defense), and if possible, I would also like to be able to mount that same optic on a helmet. If I cannot get one optic that will do both, that is alright, but I would prefer having the two options for mounting the NOD.

Next up is deciding which type of optic to put in front of the NV...

I hate batteries, so if there is an option that does not use batteries, all the better (Mepro-Light 21 is advertised as being NV compatible, but I would like to hear from someone that has actually used one in this role.)

Also, if you have any advice as to a good place to buy NV from, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for the help.

DeltaSierra

Renegade
05-03-11, 18:41
PVS-14 is most common NV device that moves from gun to helmet. You will not be able to get state-of-the-art Tubr though, they are only available under military contract. You can still get a really good tube though.

Of course it is going to need batteries. NV compatible means it has a very low light setting and will not burn out the NV tube.

I use a CompM4 in front of mine. i tried an EOTech, but did not like it.

JohnnyC
05-03-11, 20:32