PDA

View Full Version : M&P9c+DCAEK+IWB- Thumb Safety?

Jellybean
05-09-11, 19:11
Well, I've been sitting here for over two hours now just today reading old threads, and I haven't run across a thread that covers this angle or given me a solid yay/nay yet, so....

The above combination is something I have been mulling over for around 3 months now (well, actually longer, but in the interest of not having a wall of text here...) and honestly, I'm stumped.
-I know I want an M&P C.
-I'm very sure I'll be getting the DCAEK/RAM as well.
-This will be pulling triple duty for HD/Fun/CCW.
-There is a 90% chance it will be carried IWB in a kydex holster of some sort.
I have done as much hands on research as I am able to- enough for me to fairly confidently assume the above will work for me.

The part I just cannot get around is the safety. Yeah, I know- there's already six zillion threads on this issue.... Sorry mods.
The problem is out of all the threads I've read (probably darn near every one over the last couple months), they either don't cover certain points, or they conflict each other too much. I've literally read in thread A "no need for safety" and thread B "must have or else..."
I realize this is just one of those never ending debates that will never be fully solved, but...seriously...?:confused: :suicide:

As of now I'm in the 'no safety' camp. For all of the M&Ps I have been able to grab, I've found the safety to be rather annoying, and weak when manipulated (ie, I could probably blow it on and off, and it sticks out farther than some others). And for the compact I want, I have a gut feeling it's really going to get in the way of my hands when shooting.
All the stores I've been in, 99% carry only the non-safetied version. I'd like to think S&W wouldn't sell a mojority like this without good reason.