PDA

View Full Version : Which to choose?

ranger7541
05-10-11, 21:02
Alright really stuck on this and could use the help of some experts here. I am not sure which is the better option the Kimber Warrior or full size Wilson Combat CQB Light rail lightweight. Now to throw a a little curve is that I would be using this pistol as a road patrol police officer. And before anyone asks no these are my only two options.

Guns-up.50
05-10-11, 21:08
Wilson CQB all the way. I wont bash series II kimbers but i sold mine for a colt. You wont be upset with the wilson im no self proclaimed expert but i would not buy a Kimber again. The wilson is a much better gun. Why such a big gap in price and grades of weapon?

ucrt
05-10-11, 21:12

Would these be your only options for that mission if there was no ego involved?

Just wondering...

But maybe it's just me...

Ttwwaack
05-10-11, 23:41
My concern besides what I posted in the PM is an alloy frame for a duty weapon.

After being the in service and seeing all the beat up M9 frames I would definetly go for a carbon steel frame over alloy or stainless even considering your enviroment. Parkerizing and Cerrakote is cheap compared with beat up checkering or a SS frame and slide galling.

Service life of an alloy frame is reported to be 15-20K although I've heard of folks getting more.

Magazine selection is critical in alloy frame to preclude follower damage on the feed ramp.

HP design projos are hard on alloy feed ramps and with a steady diet (i.e. free ammo) could wear through the coating and anodizing. EGW makes a replacement steel feed ramp to repar the problem.

Maybe someone here with more experiance with 1911 alloy frames could jump in here and give some clarification. Greg

wetidlerjr
05-11-11, 06:17
My concern besides what I posted in the PM is an alloy frame for a duty weapon.

... or a SS frame and slide galling. No longer an issue