PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob here

whitetiger7654
08-12-06, 23:22
Hey guys. I have guns but I'm totally new to the AR platform. I have shot one once and I'd like to buy one. I don't know what to look for or anything about the AR yet. I only know the history behind it.

So with that in mind. What brand etc. Should I be looking at? The gun will be for range only and 3 gun competition. It must be a whole gun not uppers and lowers because I don't feel comfortable building my own the first time. I'm trying to stay in the $1,000 range for now. Unless it's really worth it to spend the extra money up front.

Thanks for the help.

K.L. Davis
08-12-06, 23:49
Welcome...

I am sure you know your question is about like asking what kind of vehicle to buy... even once you figure out you need a truck, then you have that Ford, Dodge, Chevy, Import thing to work out.

Any of the common name companies make good stuff... do not fear putting a lower and upper together though -- if you can not do that, you will not be able to clean the thing properly (it is very, very easy).

I suggest hanging out a little, hit up some of the dealers here and get some advice from people that are using the rifle for what you want to -- I know I will miss some names, but there is bigbore, gotm4 and Bravo Company that all compete... and many others (sorry to those I did not mention).

The great thing about the AR is that you can start with a good lower and upper, and then make it into whatever you want -- just take some time to pick the brains of folks here, you've got a rather good collection of knowledge on tap.

whitetiger7654
08-13-06, 00:36
Yes I have learned there are tons of companies out there. Which is the major problem for me. I don't know where to start. I'm sure I could put one together if I had or wanted to. But I'd rather not unless there is a really good reason to.

Thors ~ Hammer
08-13-06, 00:55