PDA

View Full Version : Barely know how to shoot an AR15, should I buy an optic regardless?

GrandPooba
05-16-11, 23:11
New to rifle shooting. I've been shooting handguns for a few years. I just got my AR a few months ago and really have taught myself the basics by trying to translate my experience with handguns over to rifles. However, I did sign up for an Appleseed shoot this summer to really get the basics down (with my 10/22). I would also like to take a defensive carbine course this year.

Right now, I shoot 2-3 times a month all with irons. Range sessions consist of both shooting for groups as well as presentations, double taps, mag changes, etc. The best I can shoot is ~1 inch @ 25m from a supported position. When doing the "tactical" stuff from a standing position, my "groups" are upper torso sized. Stupid gun club doesn't let me shoot on the 50m/100m range until my 6 month probationary period is past. Now, obviously, I would like to keep shooting irons to build up those skills, but I also depend on my AR for home defense use. I am well aware of the advantages an optic like an AImpoint or Eotech provide for low light close quarters use. My AR is a KISS setup with just a sling and Surefire light mounted on the front sight base

So, should I just buy an optic and start practicing with both optics and back up iron sights? Or, should I wait until after I get formal training before slapping stuff onto my AR. I would like to hear the community's opinions on the practical benefits of optics as a function of training and skills.

snackgunner
05-16-11, 23:19
Id personally practice more with the irons and spend the money on more ammo and training, then get the optic later down the line.

If you get the optic you may never want to take it off. Plus even if you did, taking the optic off and on (to practice with both irons and optic), and having to re-zero it all the time will be a pain.

What if your optic fails?

My .2 cents

MassMark
05-16-11, 23:19