PDA

View Full Version : Service Pistol for a 1911 Fan

OldState
05-17-11, 00:02
I am a big 1911 fan. I have shot them since I was young. Bulls-eye, plate and pin matches, etc. I also have a 4" for a carry gun. I love the ergonomics, the triggers, and the single action design...as most 1911 fans do.

My question is for 1911 fans who also have full sized modern service pistols and have extensive experience with all.

What service pistols do you recommend for a person who is used to and adores the 1911? (which would disappoint me the least;) )

I am looking to use it for IDPA and home defense. It doesn't need to be a .45. I would consider a 9mm.
I am basically looking for some direction to start my search (and research).

So you know:
I don't have extensive experience with non 1911's semi-autos except for my Browning High Power. I have limited experience with Glocks several years ago. I couldn't stand the toy like trigger.

I couldn't find a similar thread, so if there is one please direct me. Thanks.

darr3239
05-17-11, 00:14
I think you will find most of the people on this site prefer Glocks, since there doesn't appear to be many others out there that can match their reliability and simplicity.

DaBigBR
05-17-11, 00:17
If you want cocked and locked, I guess I would look at the HK45 or HK P30. Both are highly regarded it seems and I personally like the feel better than the USP.

Otherwise the offerings from Glock, S&W (M&P), Sig, and whatever other "usual suspects" will likely all be suggested by somebody in this thread at some point.

If you would consider a 5" 1911, I would look at something like the Springfield Loaded, MC Operator, or TRP.

rathos
05-17-11, 00:34
As mentioned P30 with safety or HK 45, parts are expensive and accessories can be hard to get. M&P with thumb safety, but the trigger will be no where near a 1911, even with APEX gear; M&P is gaining popularity and parts and accessories are becoming almost as easy to get as a glock.