PDA

View Full Version : Selling complete rifles w/ other companies lowers kosher?

eternal24k
05-29-11, 10:23
I just came across a company building up "interesting" looking rifles, one of them being built up with a Noveske lower receiver and a barrel from Black Hole Weaponry (never heard of them before now) .

Is this legit? Can someone just buy stripped lowers and do as they feel? I have never seen a company do it and I just figured you would need the lowers blessing to build them up and sell as a rifle, seems like anybody without the knowledge base that gets one through any other means would then think they have a Noveske rifle.

So is it socially/legally acceptable?

Facejackets
05-29-11, 10:41
I'm not an expert, but as long as you aren't marketing the rifle as a factory built rifle, you are good.

If you build a Noveske N4 lower up and sell it as a "custom AR built on a Noveske lower" rather than a "Noveske factory built custom blah blah blah" you should be ok.

But, if you start buying lowers and uppers in bulk, build them up, and sell then for a profit, the ATF may want to take their 11% from you and stick you with some illegal manufacturing charges.

But please don't take my post as gold, I am sure someone who has a better answer will chime in and rip my ass for giving bad info.

Stickman
05-29-11, 13:04
So is it socially/legally acceptable?

Socially acceptable? No.

Legally acceptable? It would depend on a few variables.

What company?

eternal24k
05-29-11, 13:10
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=211997562155358&set=o.52233792656&type=1&theater

Dale Gribble
05-29-11, 13:14
Hard to take them serious when they build a "Zombie Killer" line.

outrider627
05-29-11, 14:55