PDA

View Full Version : Aimpoint PRO

Black Jack
05-31-11, 13:42
Aimpoint PRO

First, let me apologize if this has already been addressed. I did a search and came up with many pages of results, but none that I could fine to answer my question.
I have a new Aimpoint PRO that I have just added and have a question about the zero on it.

For a 50/200 m zero the iron sights give me a POI that is approx. 1.2” below POA. However I have never used a red dot sight before. With my sights flipped up, they are in the lower 1/3 of the Aimpoint field of view with the red dot a little above the irons (approx. in the middle of the Aimpoint field of view). This gives me POI that is currently approx. 5” below POA for the red dot. Unfortunately I do not have ready access to a 200 meter range so I am not able to “play” with it to see what it does.

Should the red dot POA be the same as the BUIS POA or should it be above them? If the red dot POA is supposed to be above the BUIS POA, then how high above POI should the POA be? If the two should have the same POA, I am assuming that having the dot in the lower 1/3 of the Aimpoint field of view is not a problem.

Unfortunately I am new to red dot sights and do not know all the “ins and outs” of their relationship to the BUIS yet.

Thanks.

C4IGrant
05-31-11, 14:24
Aimpoint PRO

For a 50/300 m zero

No such animal. There is a 50/200 though.

The iron sights give me a POI that is approx. 1.2” below POA. However I have never used a red dot sight before. With my sights flipped up, they are in the lower 1/3 of the Aimpoint field of view with the red dot a little above the irons (approx. in the middle of the Aimpoint field of view). This gives me POI that is currently approx. 5” below POA for the red dot. Unfortunately I do not have ready access to a 300 meter range so I am not able to “play” with it to see what it does.