PDA

View Full Version : Patrol Rifle Optics

vdog
06-03-11, 18:52
I have been wondering about changing optics on my RRA Middy patrol rifle. I currently have an Eotech on the rifle. I am a Conservation Officer and feel as though engagements or threats futher than the normal LEO would be a possiblity ie being on boats, rural areas. Now I have nothing to back this up at this time, everytime it has been deployed it has been CQB situations. So my question is am I crazy thinking about getting a 1-4 varible instead of my EO, due close contacts seeming to be the norm. Currently with the EO I mentaly switch to the Iron sights after 80-100 yards. I just dont have the confidence with the EO past that as I do the iron. Just having some thoughts.
Thanks in advance.

DaBears_85
06-03-11, 20:11
I understand what your saying, but it sounds like you just need some more trigger time with the EOTech. You shouldn't have any issues with hitting a target at 80-100 yards with an RDS. Hell, you shouldn't have any issues hitting one out to 300 yards. If your set on trying a variable-power optic however, why not try one of EOTech's magnifiers (http://www.eotech-inc.com/products.php?id=3) before replacing the optic altogether?

J

vdog
06-03-11, 20:18
Should say I really dont have trouble hitting just find myself instinctivly switching to the irons. I have thought about the magnifier but not crazy about having something else to snag when it is flipped out. Maybe im just being overly critical.

Chameleox
06-03-11, 20:41
I just dwitched from a 4X ACOG to an Aimpoint H1 for patrol use. Granted, my area of responsibility is different from yours, but I found that with a red dot, I can be very accurate out to 200 yds, yet still be fast up close.