PDA

View Full Version : Gas purging a magnifier.

polymorpheous
06-11-11, 14:36
I found a Hensoldt magnifier online from a vendor for $60.

They are selling them with the reticle removed.
I inquired about them and they said that they removed the reticle, but did not purge the tube with a gas.
My understanding it that the gas helps prevent fogging.
I have been looking for one of these magnifiers for sometime, but I'm hesitant because of this.

I'm a welder and have easy access to CO2.
Is it feasible for me to purge the tube myself?
How does one do this?

ra2bach
06-11-11, 15:06
is CO2 anhydrous?

if it is, could you fill an empty clear plastic bag like a trash bag, and supply a constant feed of CO2, then disassemble and reassemble the optic in there?

it probably wouldn't be perfect but better than not trying at all, right???

polymorpheous
06-11-11, 15:08
is CO2 anhydrous?

if it is, could you fill an empty clear plastic bag like a trash bag, and supply a constant feed of CO2, then disassemble and reassemble the optic in there?

it probably wouldn't be perfect but better than not trying at all, right???

I don't know.
I think argon is, but the shop i work at doesn't use straight argon.

I found a magnifier on GB for $35.
It still has the reticle in it and sealed in it's original package.
I placed the bid.

ucrt
06-11-11, 15:10

Poly,
I wouldn't use CO2 but being a welder you should have access to Argon too...correct?

Argon is great because it is inert, CO2 is bad because it is so reactive. CO2 mixes with moisture and will make Carbonic Acid which is corrosive.

Argon is heavier than air (N2) which would make it easier to use.

But maybe it's just me...

polymorpheous
06-11-11, 19:08
I wouldn't use CO2 but being a welder you should have access to Argon too...correct?

ucrt
06-11-11, 20:05
I don't know.

========================================