PDA

View Full Version : Building my first rifle for IPSC

9MX
10-17-07, 06:05
I'm a total newbie and am currently building my rifle specifically for IPSC competition . I recently bought a slightly used upper with the following specs:

Upper - DPMS upper receiver, Olympic Arms for bolt and 16 inch barrel, flashider was made my a top gunsmith here in Manila.

Lower - DPMS parts kit, JP trigger

I plan to mount an ACOG TA01NSN and a Docter sight on a YHM offset mount on this upper

However, a veteran local IPSC rifle shooter whom I recently started to hang is urging me to replace my upper with the following:

WOA 16inch SS midlength barrel
STAG upper receiver (M4 feedramp variant)
Colt/Elisco Bolt carrier
Troy Industries free float handguard
Geissele Trigger kit
Millet DMS-1 Optics

I have to sell the items I previously acquired to get the new stuff.

My question is, should proceed with the reconfiguration?:confused:

Robb Jensen
10-17-07, 06:14
I'm a total newbie and am currently building my rifle specifically for IPSC competition . I recently bought a slightly used upper with the following specs:

Upper - DPMS upper receiver, Olympic Arms for bolt and 16 inch barrel, flashider was made my a top gunsmith here in Manila.

Lower - DPMS parts kit, JP trigger

I plan to mount an ACOG TA01NSN and a Docter sight on a YHM offset mount on this upper

However, a veteran local IPSC rifle shooter whom I recently started to hang is urging me to replace my upper with the following:

WOA 16inch SS midlength barrel
STAG upper receiver (M4 feedramp variant)
Colt/Elisco Bolt carrier
Troy Industries free float handguard
Geissele Trigger kit
Millet DMS-1 Optics

I have to sell the items I previously acquired to get the new stuff.

My question is, should proceed with the reconfiguration?:confused: