PDA

View Full Version : 1.1-4x variable optics

ruchik
06-19-11, 18:47
I wasn't able to find a complete and straight answer for my question regarding optics. I'm new to this whole field, and checked out the stickies in this thread. Lots of great info. Here's what I'm wondering though: for optics that are variable power, like a 1.1-4x, do they still have an eye relief at the lowest 1.1x setting? I.e., I still need to hold that scope away from my eye a certain distance? I like the ability of being able to adjust your power, but like the unlimited eye relief of red dot optics as well.

BooneGA
06-19-11, 18:55
Yes they require a certain positioning of your eye in order to use the optic even on 1 (or 1.1) power.

That is the very reason that I run a MRDS with all of my optics.

Rick

Crow Hunter
06-19-11, 20:08
It has been my experience with most of the "good" variable magnified optics that I have tried, the "eye relief" as I normally think of it(distance from the eye to the occular lense straight back on the stock) isn't really that noticeable. In other words, by the time I notice a narrowing down of the optic my cheek is practically on the butt plate.

What is noticable to me though is that the higher the magnification the tighter you have to be on your cheek weld to avoid losing the sight picture all together. That is where I notice the biggest difference between a RDS and a magnified optic.

When I had a TR24 at 1x I could get about 50 - 75% of the total head movement that I could with an Aimpoint M4. At 4x though, I could only move my head slightly and I would start seeing black.

With the RDS you can miss that cheek weld and still see the dot and the target. With the magnified optic, you miss by much and all you will see is black.

bp7178
06-19-11, 20:45
It's worth noting that the higher quality scopes are much more tolerant of head posistion. As the exit pupil narrows as you increase magnification, you will have to have a more exact head posistion.