PDA

View Full Version : Is 3x magnifier the standard?

Snareman
07-01-11, 23:43
I picked up an Aimpoint PRO and am trying to figure out what magnifier I might eventually get. I see they have their 3x one but that they also come in greater sizes. Is 3x standard or is there not really a standard? The most I'd envision shooting might be 400 yards. I'm relatively new to the world of optics so any help would be great. Thanks!

sgtjosh
07-02-11, 00:50
Off brands such as Primary Arms offer them in 5x and 8x also.

Magic_Salad0892
07-02-11, 01:59
You don't need any magnification to do hits out to 400m, you should be fine.

Magnifiers + RDS sucks anyway.

Unless you're looking to make those hits at speed, then magnification will require less training to do so.

Snareman
07-02-11, 07:31

Unless you're looking to make those hits at speed, then magnification will require less training to do so.

Wow, really? Can you even see much of the target at 400 without magnification? So when would you need it then?

glockshooter
07-02-11, 07:46

Lets clarify. Apparently Magic doesn't need magnification to hit targets at distance and doesn't care for magnifiers. I dont know what your uses are but having magnificaton always help hit targets at longer distances. I understand his point that you dont have to have magnification to shoot 400 yards but it makes it easier and quicker. Which is usually the point of shooting so make the choice on what fills your needs.

Matt

Crow Hunter
07-02-11, 10:25
Wow, really? Can you even see much of the target at 400 without magnification? So when would you need it then?

Depends on what size your target is and how precise you want to be.